Colours of Navratri

Navratri is the festival of colours. Everything about Navratri is so colorful and so diverse. Undifferentiated sunlight is white in color. When it passes through a prism, it refracts into seven different colors. In the same way, the Supreme Divinity manifests itself into different forms, names, qualities and colors in the visible universe around us. Each of the nine days of Navratri has a special significance about it. 

Each of the Navdurga avatars have their own significance and style of worshipping. Also, the colours for Navratri are designated to each of these nine devis of Navratri. The colours for goddess Durga are very special and each of these colours must be worn on the stipulated day.

Day 1 : Pratipada YELLOW

The first day of this festive season is the day of Shailaputri Devi. Shailaputri is the daughter of the mountains.She is worshipped on the first day of Navaratri.The color to wear is yellow.

Day 2 : Dwitya Green

Bharmacharini means one who practices devout austerity. Holding a rosary in her right hand and a water utensil in her left hand, she blesses her worshipers with happiness, peace and prosperity. The color to be worn on the second day is green.

Day 3 : Tritya Grey

The third face of Goddess Durga is ‘Chandraghanta’, who is worshipped for peace, tranquility and prosperity in life. She has a ‘chandra’ or half moon on her forehead in the shape of a ‘ghanta’ or bell and has a golden bright complexion. She rides a lion and has ten hands and three eyes and holds weapons in her hands. The color to wear on the third day is grey.

Day 4 : Chaturthi Orange

The fourth form of Mother Goddess is Kushmanda, which means ‘the cosmic egg’. She is considered the creator of the universe. She rides a lion and is often depicted as having eight or ten hands holding weapons, glitter, rosary, etc. The color to be worn on the fourth day is orange.

Day 5 : Panchmi White 

The 5th avatar of Mother Durga is ‘Skanda Mata’, who is worshipped on the fifth day. She was chosen by gods as their commander in chief to battle the war against demons. The color to be worn on the fifth day is white.

Day 6 : Shashti Red

The sixth form of Mother Durga is known as ‘Katyayani‘, who is worshipped on the sixth day. Katyayani was born to Kata as Durga’s incarnation. The color to wear on this day is Red.

Day 7 : Saptami Blue

The 7th avatar of Mother Durga is Kalratri, one who has a dark complexion, has disheveled hair and a fearless posture. Her breath emanates flames and she has a third eye. She is seen riding on a donkey. Similar to Goddess Kali, Ma Kalratri fights the dark and evil. The color to wear on this day is blue.

Day 8 : Ashtami Pink

Maha Gauri is the eight form of Durga Maa, and she reflects intelligence, peace and calm. It is said that because of her long austerities in the deep forests of Himalayas, her color turned from white to black, though later Lord Shiva cleaned her with the water from Ganges, which revived her beauty. The color to wear on this day is pink.

Day 9 : Navmi Purple

Goddess Siddhidatri is worshipped on the ninth day of navratri and is said to be the one with supernatural healing powers. She has four arms and is seen in an enchanting pose. Riding on a lion, she blesses all Gods, saints, tantrics and devotees. The color to be worn on the seventh day is purple.

For more Blog Posts , CLICK .

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: